Online donation system by ClickandPledge

user preferences

  • Language - en

Eleven Legislators, One Minister, Held By Israel

author Tuesday March 04, 2014 09:03author by Saed Bannoura - IMEMC News Report post

The Ahrar Center for Detainees Studies and Human Rights has reported that Israel is currently holding captive eleven democratically elected Palestinian legislators and one minister.

Palestinain Legislative Council - Ahrar
Palestinain Legislative Council - Ahrar

In a press release, head of the Ahrar Center, former political prisoner, Fuad al-Khuffash, stated that most of the imprisoned officials are held under arbitrary Administrative Detention orders, without charges.

“In many cases, renewed detention orders were issued against them just a day or a few days before their release date”, al-Khuffash said. “All of the detained legislators are former political prisoners who spent years in Israel prisons.

The detained legislators are Mahmoud Abu Teir, Yasser Mansour, Mahmoud Ramahy, Nizar Ramadan, Mohammad Bader, Ahbdul-Jaber Foqaha, Ahmad Attoun, Mohammad Natsha, Marwan Barghouthi, and Ahmad Sa’adat.

The detained minister is Issa Ja’bary, who was recently rearrested and imprisoned by Israel without charges.

“They are rarely allowed family visits, and are facing very harsh living conditions”, al-Khuffash said. “Some of them have chronic diseases; they need professional and adequate medical attention, but are denied this right”.

category palestine | prisoners | news report author email saed at imemc dot org
This page can be viewed in
Follow imemcnews on Twitter
© 2001-2016 IMEMC News. Unless otherwise stated by the author, all content is free for non-commercial reuse, reprint, and rebroadcast, on the net and elsewhere. Opinions are those of the contributors and are not necessarily endorsed by IMEMC News. Disclaimer | Privacy